
Taxable wage base per year per employee  is $14,000



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FORM UI-2/3 
 
 

EMPLOYER’S QUARTERLY WAGE REPORT (FORM UI-3) 
 
 
Form UI-3, Wage Report, must show the TOTAL wages PAID to each employee during the calendar quarter.  The calendar quarter covered by this report 
will be either:  1st Quarter, January-February-March; 2nd Quarter, April-May-June; 3rd Quarter, July-August-September; or 4th Quarter, October-November-
December.  Wages are considered paid when they are actually paid or credited to the employee’s account so that the employee may draw on the w ages at 
any time, regardless of when the services were rendered.  Do not make prior quarter employee wage adjustment on this report. 
 
Please type or print all information legibly, in the appropriate column.  (Reimbursable Employers should complete item 1 through item 5 only.) 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING EMPLOYERS QUARTERLY WAGE REPORT (FORM UI-3) 
 

ITEM 1:  Enter the employee’s Social Security  Number.  (If an emplo yee does not have an SSN, file th e report using th e employee’s name only , 
while the employee is waiting for receipt of a number.) 

 
ITEM 2:  Enter each employee’s name (two initials and full last name). 
 
ITEM 3:  Enter total gross wages paid to each employee for Mississippi em ployment.  Wages paid include a ll payments made in cash and the cash 

value of any type payment other than cash.  If you have questions on whether employment or wages are exempt under the law, call or write 
the Mississippi Department of Employment Security. 

 
 

NOTE: IF ADDITIONAL SPACE IS NEEDED TO LIST EMPLOYEES/WAGES, TYPE OR PRINT THE ADDITIONAL WAGE 
INFORMATION (SSN, Employee’s Name, Total Wages Paid This Quarter) on a piece of plain white paper, 8 ½” X 11”.  
Each additional page should show the total amount of wages listed on that page.  Include all extra sheets with Form 
UI-2/3 and enter the total wages for the report at the top of Form UI-3. 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING EMPLOYERS QUARTERLY CONTRIBUTION  REPORT (FORM UI-2) 
 
ITEM 4:  Enter the total number of em ployees, full-time and part-time, for the pa yroll period, which in cludes the 12 th day of the month for EACH 

month in the calendar quarter.  If no employment in the payroll period, enter zero. 
 
ITEM 5:  Enter the total gross wages paid to emplo yees for Mississippi employment (includes taxable and non-taxable wages).  NOTE: The amount 

entered must agree with the TOTAL of the individual wages listed in Item 3. 
 
ITEM 6:  Non-Taxable wages are computed for each employee.  The first $14,000 an employee is paid b y each employer in a calendar year is taxed.  

Any wages paid above $14,000 (per employee) in a calendar year is non-taxable and should be reported in Item 6. 
 
ITEM 7:  Subtract Item 6 from Item 5 to determine Taxable Wages. 
 
ITEM 8:  Multiply Taxable Wages (Item 7) by your UI Contribution Rate. 
 
ITEM 9:  Multiply Taxable Wages (Item 7) by your Training Contribution Rate. 
 
ITEM 10: Add items 8 and 9 for Total Contributions Due. 
 
ITEM 11: Interest should by calculated from the day  following the due date of th e report, until the date of payment, at a rate of 1 % per month on 

Contributions due. Multiply Item 10 by the appropriate interest rate. 
 
ITEM 12: Damages calculated as follows: 

   A:  Ten percent (10%) of contributions (tax) due as damages for failure to pay contributions timely, if you are filing this                                   
         report 60 days or more after the report due date; and 
   B:  Ten percent of contributions (tax) due as damages for failure to file your report timely, if a final notice of Assessment of    
         Contributions  (Form UI-45) has been issued. 

 
ITEM 13: Enter the sum of Item 10, 11, and 12.  Make your check payable to the Mississippi Department of Employment Security for this amount. 
 
Form UI-2/3 must be signed by an authorized representative of the firm, or by the individual owner.  Please include your telephone number. 
Form UI-2 must be filed by the due date, even if no wages are paid for the quarter. 
 
 

MAILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 
DO NOT STAPLE ANY DOCUMENTS.  Return Forms UI-2/3 with your payment to the Mississippi Department of Emplo yment Security, P.O. Box 
22781 Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2781.  Enclose the original of any wage continuation sheets, if appropriate. 
 
 
 




